Riders battle it out for their HOYS Wild Card

HOYS Wild Card

Riders battle it out for their HOYS Wild Card

HOYS Wild Card, the competition heats up!

For many riders, the British Showjumping National Championships and Stoneleigh Horse Show, which takes place this week 9th – 14th August, is one of their last chances to qualify for Horse of the Year Show with three HOYS Wild Cards up for grabs.

The allocation of Wild Cards will be decided on the Sunday afternoon after the International Stairway Final. The Wild Cards will be awarded to the following: one to the winner of the International Stairway League, one to the winner of the International Stairway Final (who will also receive the title of British Showjumping National Champion), and one card to the winner of the National Championship Show League which will run across the show culminating with the International Stairway Final on Sunday.

The HOYS Wild Card Series has three heats at the six day show; leg one begins on the Friday 12th and leg two follows on the next day with fences at a maximum height of 1.45m. For the culminating final on the Sunday, the fences will be a maximum height of 1.50m, which promises edge of your seat action and a great way to celebrate the final day of the six day show. The recipients of the three Wild Cards will then automatically be qualified for the International Competitions at Horse of the Year Show 2016 where the qualified rider will be entitled to enter three horses plus one for the Puissance.


There are several riders returning this year to defend their title from 2015. Jonathan Buxton, who won the HOYS Wild Card Series last year with High Offley Arturos Catch, has entered the series again this year with Strides Hilanasterne. Julie Andrews is returning with her ride Wilando B; the pair won the second leg of the HOYS Wild Card Series at last year’s show which was the speed round. The Lancashire based show jumper will once again be contesting the Wild Card Series with two horses; Wilando B and Ayrton IV.

Former Olympian, David Mcpherson is also getting in on the action in the Wild Card Series. The Kent based show jumper came fifth in the final last year riding bay mare Gloria Van Zuuthoeve. He will this year jump the three-heat qualifier riding Ceather owned by Alan Burnell. A fourth competitor to return for this year’s HOYS Wild Card Series is Carron Nicol who brings a new ride with her for 2016, Jaguar VD Berghoeve.

Amongst the HOYS Wild Card Series competitors there are also many new faces to welcome; Robert Whitaker, Chelsea Skelton, Jessica Dimmock, Alfie Bradstock, Louise Whitaker, Yasmin Davis, to name just a few, and they will all be battling it out for one of the three HOYS Wild Cards as well as the title of the British Showjumping National Champion 2016.

Related posts

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.