Marcus Ehning Wins Rolex Grand Prix at Indoor Brabant


Marcus Ehning Wins Rolex Grand Prix at Indoor Brabant

Marcus Ehning rode Cornado NRW to win the Rolex Grand Prix at Indoor Brabant in the Netherlands, with Hans-Dieter Dreher in second and Willem Greve in third place.

The world’s best riders gave everything to win the CSI5* Rolex Grand Prix with competitors from 13 different nations from as far as Australia, USA and Qatar. The Netherlands were the strongest represented with the home nation fielding 11 riders, followed by Germany with six and Belgium with five world-class combinations.

The Louis Koninckx designed course was a challenging and technical ask for the riders, who had to tackle a 13-fence first course set with a very tight time. From the 40 starters, just 12 went clear and within the time to make it through to the jump-off.

Commenting on his victory, Marcus Ehning said, “I was really pleased with my horse. He was fantastic – it was a great course and great fans as always here.”

It was not to be for 2015 winner Daniel Deusser from Germany, riding Cornet D’Amour, who just tipped one fence down in the second round. The jump-off thrilled the packed crowds who were on the edge of their seats as the final riders battled it out for the Rolex Grand Prix prize.

The passionate home fans had to settle for a third place with Willem Greve finishing less than one second behind the German pair of Ehning and Dreher, with only four riders managing a double-clear.

In ninth position was Rolex Testimonee, and the first and only winner of the Rolex Grand Slam of Show Jumping, Scott Brash, who had one fence down early in the jump-off round.

From 10-13 March the medieval city of ‘s-Hertogenbosch became the focal point for international show jumping as it staged four days of exceptional equestrian sport. Indoor Brabant’s long and distinguished history, combined with its long-term partnership with Rolex – which was extended in 2014 – has strengthened s’Hertogenbosch’s position at the top of the international indoor show jumping circuit.   In this 49th edition of the show, it combined both elite-level show jumping and dressage.

There were several top CSI5* jumping classes over the four days of competition, with the Rolex Grand Prix bringing the show to an exciting climax on Sunday evening.


1. Marcus Ehning (GER), riding Cornado NRW
2. Hans-Dieter Dreher (GER), riding Cool and Easy
3. Willem Greve (NED), riding Carambole N.O.P.
4. Jos Verlooy (NED), riding Sunshine
5. Simon Delestre (FRA), riding Qlassic Bois Margot
6. Daniel Deusser (GER), riding Cornet D’Amour
7. Penelope Leprevost (FRA), riding Vagabond de la Pomme
8. Gert Jan Bruggink (NED), riding Vampire
9. Scott Brash (GBR), riding Hello Forever       
10. Leopold Van Asten (NED), riding VDL Groep Zidane N.O.P.

Related posts