Tokyo Olympic Equestrian Team GBR Nominations Change

The FEI has published the full report of the horse monitoring research project conducted at the Ready Steady Tokyo test event in August, won by Olympic champion Michael Jung (GER) with Fischerwild Wave. (FEI/Yusuke Nakanishi)

Tokyo Olympic Equestrian Team GBR Nomination Change

The Tokyo Olympic Equestrian Team GBR nominations have changed with just one week to go until the final line-up is announced.

British Equestrian (BEF) announced some final changes to the eventing nominated entries, originally published on 21 May. The sporting body also released an updated list for the Team GBR show jumping team, which was released on 3 June.

Combinations for dressage and Paralympic combinations remain unchanged.

Team GBR Eventing

Following the completion of the three Olympic selection competitions, the British Eventing Selectors made some major changes to the line up. Selectors have switched out the Pippa Funnel, the first person to win the Rolex Grand Slam of Eventing. They have also taken European gold medalist out of the line-up.


Final eventing nominated entries, listed in alphabetical order by athlete surname:

  • Rosalind Canter (35) with Caroline Moore and her own Allstar B.
  • Laura Collett (31) with Karen Bartlett, Keith Scott and her own London 52.
  • William Fox- Pitt (52) with Jennifer Dowling and his own Little Fire.
  • Kitty King (38) with Diana Bown, Sally Eyre, Samantha Wilson and Sally Lloyd-Baker’s Vendredi Biats.
  • Piggy March (40) with John and Chloe Perry and Alison Swinburn’s Brookfield Inocent.
  • Tom McEwen (30) with Fred and Penny Barker, Jane Inns and Ali McEwen’s Toledo de Kerser.
  • Harry Meade (37) with Mandy Gray and his own Superstition.
  • Oliver Townend (38) with Karyn Schuter, Angela Hislop and Val Ryan’s Ballaghmor Class.
  • Nicola Wilson (44) with Deirdre Johnston and James and Jo Lambert’s JL Dublin.

Reserve nominated entries, listed in alphabetical order by athlete surname:

  • Sarah Bullimore (48) with the Kew Jumping Syndicate, Brett Bullimore and her own Corouet.
  • Oliver Townend (38) with Angela Hislop’s Cooley Master Class.
  • Nicola Wilson (44) with James and Jo Lambert’s Bulana.

William Fox-Pitt has now been added to the nine with his ride, Little Fire. Nicola Wilson’s Bulana has now moved to a reserve slot. However, Nicola also remains on the nominated list with new addition, JL Dublin.

Team GBR Showjumping

The showjumping team has also has a switch up. The British Showjumping Selectors have replaced William Funnell, following an injury. William Whitaker takes his place in the nine nominated entries with Galtur. Harry Charles’ reserve horse has also been removed, however, he still remains on the nominated list with ride, Romeo 88. Amy Inglis is now named as a reserve with Wishes.

  • Scott Brash (34)  with Lady Pauline Harris and Lady Pauline Kirkham’s Hello Jefferson.
  • Harry Charles (22) with Ann Thompson and his own Romeo 88.
  • Ben Maher (38) with Charlotte Rossetter, Pamela Wright and his own Explosion W.
  • Emily Moffitt (22) with Poden Farms and Neil and Heidi Moffitt’s Winning Good.
  • Holly Smith (30) with Ian Dowie’s Denver.
  • Alexandra Thornton (28) with Dunwalke Ltd’s Cornetto K.
  • Ellen Whitaker (35) with Norman Oley’s Arena UK Winston.
  • William Whitaker (31) with Philip Tuckwell’s Galtur.
  • James Wilson (26) with Heather Larson and Susan Larson’s Imagine de Muze.

The following have been named as reserves:

  • Scott Brash – first reserve: Lady Pauline Harris and Lady Pauline Kirkham’s Hello Senator. Second reserve: Lady Pauline Harris and Lady Pauline Kirkham’s Hello Vincent.
  • Amy Inglis (24) with Claire Inglis’s Wishes.

The named 12 combinations for each discipline have now been submitted to the Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) as Team GBR’s nominated entries for the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. Only the combinations who appear on the nominated entries list may be put forward to the British Olympic Association for selection to the Games. The nominated list of 12 for the Tokyo Paralympic Games will submitted to the FEI on 5 July 2021.

Selection decisions are subject to the athlete and horse maintaining fitness and performance. The selected squad of four combinations and their grooms to travel to the Tokyo Olympic Games, plus reserves, in each discipline will be announced on 28 June 2021. The squad of four for the Tokyo Paralympic Games will be revealed on 16 July 2021.

You may also like to read

Related posts